Early to Bed, Early to Rise

For most of my life I have been a night-owl. That changed somewhat when I went on an anti-depressant that the doctor decided was partly to adjust sleep patterns. I decided then that I should take my need for sleep much more seriously, and I did

However, I continued to sleep late on Saturday mornings, holidays, and some Sundays.

In the past few years I have become an early bird. This was partly work-related (needing to get up at 5:30 to get to work on time). I also started going to bed much earlier, partly because I was very unhappy with my work at the time, and partly because I had to get up so early.

More recently, I have been accepting temporary assignments with a temp agency and am on call to work as a substitute receptionist in the Madison Metropolitan School District. Because I never know until early morning if there is a call for my services, I have to get up and at least shower before 6:15 (they have called me that early).

I am up this morning, because I did not know the school district was closed. But I am beginning to enjoy being up early, getting a head start on the day, feeling alive as dawn turns to daylight.

It is currently 7:47 and I have showered, had my coffee and breakfast, gone through new FaceBook entries, and written this little essay (I guess you would call it).

Feeling alive!!

Now I need to pray before the morning gets on any further.

January 2014

Leave a Reply

